CDN Awards Process and Descriptions

As we all know, CDN is made up of talented and dedicated individuals. The following awards have been created in order to provide CDN with a mechanism for recognizing individuals or teams for high caliber achievements and contributions related to career services across our campus. A nominating committee made  up of CDN Executive Board members will solicit and review nominations annually and/or make their own nominations and select recipients*.

2016 Award Winners

Jean Underwood - CDN Lifetime Achievement Award

Joyce Halverson - CDN Golden Achievement Award

Lisa Novack - CDN Golden Gopher Merit Award

CDN Lifetime Achievement Award (not awarded every year)

Given in recognition of a current or past member of CDN for his/her contributions (over a minimum of 15 years) to the field of career development, with a significant portion of their career at the University of Minnesota.

Recipient should:

  • demonstrate a long-term commitment to student and career development
  • have had an impact on students across the campus

have made significant contributions to CDN and/or campus-wide career initiatives- helping to raise career services at UMN to a higher standard

CDN Golden Achievement Award

This award recognizes a current or past member of CDN for his/her contributions (over a minimum of 10 years) in the field of career development at the University of Minnesota. Recipients should:

  • demonstrate a long term commitment to student and career development
  • have actively participated in CDN and/or other college and campus-wide career initiatives and activities.

CDN Golden Gopher Merit Award

This award honors individuals (or teams of individuals) who have made a significant positive impact on the lives of University of Minnesota students or CDN. This may be a one-time achievement or achievement over time related to teaching, research, projects, or delivery of exemplary service to students and/or our employer partners. Nominations from all levels of experience are encouraged for this award.

*  A nomination of an individual or team of individuals does not ensure receipt of the award.

Past award winners


Becky Hall, CDN Golden Achievement Award


Heidi Perman CDN Golden Achievement Award

Beth Lory  CDN Golden Gopher Merit Award


Jerry Rinehart CDN Lifetime Achievement Award

Lynne Schumann CDN Golden Achievement Award

Sara Nagel Newberg, Chris Buckley, Jeannie Stumne, Heidi Perman  CDN Golden Gopher Merit Award